Geomechanics and Tunnelling

It is published annually with 6 issues and in an edition of 2,500 copies. Membership of ÖGG includes a reference to the journal.

Become a Member

To become a member of the Austrian Society for Geomechanics is worth it! Become a member and take advantage of many benefits.


Austrian Society for Geomechanics

A group of Austrian experts started in the fifties of the 20th century to deal with rock engineering. This group was also called Salzburg Circle. As early as 1951 Leopold Müller organized a Colloquium about rock engineering and technological questions in Salzburg. In 1962 the International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM) was founded in Salzburg. Leopold Müller was the first president of the ISRM. The Austrian Society for Geomechanics (OeGG) was founded in 1968 as national group of the ISRM.

The aims of the Society are the promotion of scientific research in all fields of geological and geotechnical engineering, establishing and maintaining links to related societies, the exchange of experience with all those involved in geotechnical research, construction, and administration, the improvement of design and construction methods, and last but not least the elaboration and publication of papers and guidelines.

read more ...


Read up on the next symposium.